Photo: Christina Weese

CGPS is pleased to introduce Dr. Jaswant Singh, PhD as its new Associate Dean effective February 1, 2024, for a term of three years. As part of the AD’s role with CGPS, Dr. Singh will provide vision for innovation in graduate degrees and holistic graduate education in addition to being the college’s point person for academic affairs. Dr. Singh is no stranger to fostering an environment that positions students and postdoctoral scholars for success. Named as the lead of VPR’s faculty mentorship program and as a professor with the Western College of Veterinary Medicine (WCVM) at USask, Singh sees mentorship as a passion, one that he calls extremely rewarding in the academic community.

Dr. Jaswant Singh is a veterinarian (DVM 1983) with specialization in bovine reproduction (Master’s 1986, PhD 1997) and joined the University of Saskatchewan as faculty in 2000. Having served as a graduate chair in the Department of Veterinary Biomedical Sciences (VBMS) for two terms, as chair of the Division of Biomedical Engineering (BioE), and as a member of countless CGPS and USask committees, Singh brings a unique blend of experience that include lenses of USask alumni, a researcher, a scholar not to mention a volunteer faith leader. Leading a vibrant NSERC-funded research program, Dr. Singh has trained 116 highly qualified personnel since his appointment at USask; in the last 6 years, he has supervised 5 PhD, 8 MSc, 1 postdoctoral fellow, 6 visiting scientists, 8 DVM and 8 BSc students. Jaswant and his trainees have published 149 peer-reviewed scientific articles and filed 3 patents. Collectively, he and his trainees have won numerous national and international awards and accolades.

With a knack for listening, Jaswant has a proven track record of building consensus and is a passionate leader in graduate training. Please join me in welcoming Dr. Jaswant Singh to the leadership team of the College of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies.

Search & Selection Committee

  • Dean Debby Burshtyn – Committee Chair
  • Enchuan Shao - Member of the CGPS Faculty
  • James Benson - Member of the CGPS Faculty
  • Saija Kontulainen - Delegate of the Provost
  • Kayla Benoit - Graduate Student Association Representative