Each competition has unique eligibility criteria; potential applicants should refer to each scholarship program website for comprehensive eligibility information. 

I want to apply for:

Scholarship How do I apply
Vanier Applicant must be nominated by the department at the university* where they wish to study
Canada Graduate Scholarship – Doctoral
I am currently registered in a graduate program at a university, or I was registered in a graduate program within the past 12 months Applicants must apply to the university* where they are currently registered or were recently registered within the past 12 months
I was registered in a graduate program more than 12 months ago. Applicants must apply to the appropriate Tri-Agency directly.
Canada Graduate Scholarship – Master’s
I am currently registered in a graduate program at a university, or I was registered in a graduate program within the past 12 months Applicants must apply to the university* where they are currently registered.
I am current registered in an undergraduate program or have not yet started a graduate program. Applicants to apply to up to three separate universities*.

* The university must receive a Tri-Agency quota.

Departments may have internal deadlines and/or preliminary review procedures in place. Contact your department's Graduate Chair to confirm.

$6,000 top up

Graduate students who hold one of the following Tri-Agency scholarships at the University of Saskatchewan receive an additional $6,000 annual top-up scholarship for the duration of the Tri-Agency award. The majority of this funding comes from the Government of Saskatchewan’s Innovation & Opportunity Scholarship program.

  • Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship
  • CIHR Frederick Banting and Charles Best Canada Graduate Scholarship Doctoral Awards (CGS D)
  • NSERC Postgraduate Scholarships – Doctoral (PGS D) and Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarship – Doctoral (CGS D)
  • SSHRC Doctoral Fellowships and Canada Graduate Scholarships—Doctoral Scholarships (CGS D)
  • Canada Graduate Scholarships – Master’s (CGS M)

Many departments also provide a supplementary matching value scholarship. Students should contact their supervisor or Graduate Chair about this possibility.


The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS) program aims to strengthen Canada's ability to attract and retain world-class doctoral students and establish Canada as a global centre of excellence in research and higher learning. Vanier Scholars demonstrate leadership skills and a high standard of scholarly achievement in graduate studies in the social sciences and humanities, natural sciences and/or engineering and health.

USask receives an annual quota of the number of applications in each of the three disciplines that may be entered in the competition. Candidates must be nominated by the institution at which they want to study. Candidates cannot apply directly to the Vanier CGS program. Vanier CGS application packages submitted through ResearchNet will first be adjudicated by the Graduate Awards Committee to determine which applications will compete at the national level, up to the prescribed quota amount. Applications are evaluated and ranked.

The CGS D program supports high-calibre students engaged in doctoral programs in all academic disciplines. This support allows scholars to fully concentrate on their doctoral studies, to seek out the best research mentors in their chosen fields and to contribute to the Canadian research ecosystem during and beyond the tenure of their awards.

The University of Saskatchewan receives an annual quota for the number of students that can be recommended for the national competition for each of the 3 disciplines. Submission is through each agency’s respective online portal.

Meritorious CGS D applicants may also be eligible for agency-specific doctoral awards. Applicants complete and submit one application to be considered for both a CGS D scholarship and an agency doctoral award. CGS D scholarships are offered to top-ranked eligible applicants.

Some eligibility requirements for CGS D differ from those of the agency-specific doctoral awards.

For information on doctoral awards tenable at foreign institutions, refer to the agency-specific doctoral awards.

Students entering a joint/fast-tracked Masters to PhD program, or a PhD program without having previously held a CGS at the Master’s level should first refer to the CGS M eligibility criteria, as they may be eligible under that program.

In addition to the CGS D, NSERC and SSHRC have their own doctoral awards. Refer to the appropriate literature for NSERC and SSHRC for further details.


The CIHR Frederick Banting and Charles Best Canada Graduate Scholarship Doctoral Awards (CGS D) cannot be held at an international institution. The CIHR Doctoral Foreign Study Award (DFSA) provides special recognition and support to students who are pursuing a doctoral degree in a health-related field abroad.

These awards provide financial support to high-calibre scholars who are engaged in an eligible doctoral program. One important distinction is that these scholarships may support studies at an institution outside Canada.

Applications to the NSERC PGS D competition and the SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship competition will automatically be considered for the CGS D award, which is offered to the top-ranked applicants.

The CGS M program provides financial support to high-calibre scholars who are engaged in eligible Master’s or, in some cases, Doctoral programs in Canada (refer to Eligibility). This support allows these scholars to fully concentrate on their studies in their chosen fields.

The CGS M program supports up to 3,000 students annually in all disciplines and is administered jointly by Canada’s three granting agencies: CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC. The selection process and post-award administration are carried out at the institutional level, under the guidance of the three agencies. Students submit their application to the institution at which they intend to hold their award using the Research Portal.

Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships are awarded by all three of Canada’s research granting agencies – NSERC, SSHRC and CIHR. These prestigious awards are designed to recruit top-tier postdoctoral researchers. The two-year fellowships are worth $70,000 per year, are open to recent graduates with a completed a PhD, PhD-equivalent, or health professional degree. Applications must be done in close collaboration with the university. For information on these fellowships, contact the Postdoctoral Fellow Coordinator.


Check out the tutorials created by the CGPS' Scholarships and Awards team to help you be successful in your Tri-agency scholarship applications.