Established in 2002 with Professor Peter Stoicheff as its first recipient, the Distinguished Graduate Mentorship Award aims to recognize graduate faculty with a record of excellent mentorship of graduate students under their supervision. Outstanding mentors inspire their graduate students to be creative in their thinking, to push their research in new directions, and to make a positive impact on the future. They are essential to graduate student success – in the classroom, the laboratory, and beyond. 

The Award

The recipient will receive an appropriately inscribed certificate and a $1000 one-time allocation of graduate scholarship funding awarded by the College of Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS) to support their graduate program. A plaque listing past recipients of the award is displayed prominently in the entrance of the Murray Building.

One award is made annually each spring.


All members of the faculty of the College of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies with a minimum of 10 years of supervisory experience are eligible for the award. ‘Supervision’ is interpreted broadly to include supervision of artistic works and of written works such as projects, theses and dissertations.

Nominations must be submitted using the nomination template, be no more than a total 20 pages and include:

  • One co-authored student support letter that includes passionate compelling evidence of why they feel the nominee should receive this award.
  • A maximum of two supporting letter(s) from academic colleagues.
  • The nominee’s abbreviated C.V.
  • The nominee's self-study statement regarding their graduate student teaching philosophy.


Excellence in graduate student mentorship has many dimensions. Among the elements to be considered by the Selection Committee are:

  • A reputation, among students and colleagues, for superior supervisory and mentoring ability including the ability to interest, stimulate and excite students and to motivate them to achieve high standards.
  • A demonstrated excellence in scholarship undertaken with students which would include a record of encouraging and aiding students to present their material at conferences and to publish their scholarly work or display/perform their artistic work in suitable outlets.
  • External scholarships or awards earned by graduate students on the basis of work completed under the direction of the supervisor.
  • Employment successes of former students attributable, at least in part, to the supervision provided by the nominee.
  • Other elements that the nominator considers important to contributing to a positive learning/research environment and graduate community.

Selection Committee

The award winners shall be chosen by a selection committee including the Dean of the Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, the Director of the Gwenna Moss Teaching and Learning Centre, three past recipients of the award appointed by the Dean, and a representative from the Graduate Student Association.

Application Deadline

October 31 annually

Deadline extended to December 1, 2020

The CGPS nominates recipients of this award to the Canadian Association for Graduate Studies Mentorship (est 2018) recognizing graduate faculty members with a record of outstanding mentorship of graduate students under their supervision.